Neemrana Fort Palace

July 30, 2015

Although this would have been a great place to share with someone special (um, John!), it was a nice experience flying solo. I would recommend it for anyone in the area particularly if you find India to be a little overwhelming at times. For me, Neemrana was only a two-hour ride out of Gurgaon and got me away from the traffic and the noise and the hotel where I am living.

There are no TVs in the rooms, they say they have WiFi but that’s a joke, and they don’t do room service. You’re forced to relax and that’s OK (unless being sans those items stresses you out). You pretty much need to have the stamina and leg strength of a mountain goat to make your way up, down and around through narrow passages on stone steps to navigate the palace grounds, but that was fine with me too.

Neemrana passage collage

The best part of the palace was the upper pool.

Neemrana pool

The spa treatments were AMAZING too. I had a full body treatment the first day and a facial the morning that I left.  It would be worth going back just for treatments but I could justify the trip for the pool alone.

I only stayed over one night and spent most of my time at the pool. I did hike around and stopped in one dining area for a drink and a bite to eat.  It was good.  I met some fun people, too, but didn’t join them for tea or dinner because mostly the point of my trip was to take some time alone with few distractions and unwind.

Leave a Reply

